OrigoDb components produce detailed log information. The core library includes a ConsoleLogger which is used by default. You can adjust the amount of detail or disable logging altogether by assigning ConsoleLogger.MinimumLevel with one of the LogLevel enumeration values: Trace, Debug, Info, Warn, Error, Fatal, Off. The default level is LogLevel.Info

Advanced logging

If you need more sophisticated logging, OrigoDb can be extended to integrate with just about any logging framework. You can implement your own custom module or choose an existing one:

Configuring a custom logging module

  1. Add a reference to the logging module, eg OrigoDb.Modules.BlackBox.
  2. Add module specific configuration to the application configuration file
  3. Register your custom ILoggerFactory with the LogProvider class

using code like this:

LogProvider.SetFactory(new BlackboxLoggerFactory());

Implementing a custom logging module

Create a custom logging module by implementing ILoggerFactory. Consider deriving from OrigoDb.Core.Logging.Logger which can spare you a lot of grunt work, there is only one method that needs to be implemented:

protected abstract void Write(LogLevel level, Func<string> messageGenerator);

The ILoggerFactory has these members:

ILogger GetLoggerForCallingType();
ILogger GetLogger(Type type);

Origo components call the GetLoggerForCurrentType() which should return the full name of the type including the namespace. Most log frameworks can filter and dispatch to different targets based on the name of the logger.

Have a look at the existing modules to learn more.